Media Advisory

Media Registration Now Open For ITS America's 20th Annual Meeting & Exposition in Houston May 3-5, 2010

Media registration is now open for the Intelligent Transportation Society of America's 20th Annual Meeting and Exposition in Houston, TX from May 3-5, 2010. Registered media will be allowed to attend all forums, demonstrations, tours and exhibitions at no charge.

To register, contact Emily Fishkin at (202) 721-4204 or <u>efishkin@itsa.org</u>. Additional information on ITS America's 20th Annual Meeting and Exposition is online at http://www.itsa.org/amprogram.html.

More than 2,000 public and private sector officials and innovation leaders are expected to attend the annual meeting. The three-day event will conclude with U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood convening a Surface Transportation Reauthorization Outreach Meeting with stakeholders on Wednesday, May 5:

Highlights of ITS America 2010 Annual Meeting and Exposition

George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston, Texas

Monday, May 3

Texas Senate Transportation and Homeland Security Committee Hearing

Testimony from the Texas DPS, TxDOT and ITS America on congestion and air quality, overweight vehicles, hurricane response, and other issues.

Opening Plenary and Texas Transportation Roundtable

- The Honorable Annise Parker, Mayor of Houston
- The Honorable Edward M. Emmett, Harris County Judge
- The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX/18), Chair, Homeland Security Subcommittee on Transportation Security and Infrastructure Protection, U.S. House of Representatives

Moderator: Dennis L. Christiansen, Director, Texas Transportation Institute Panelists:

- Amadeo Saenz Jr., Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation
- Frank J. Wilson, President and CEO, Houston METRO
- Michael S. Marcotte, Public Works Director, City of Houston
- John Simler, President, TransCore

Distracted Driving: Facts and Fallacies

ITS Awards and Welcome Reception

 The Honorable Pete Olson (R-TX/22), Committees on Transportation and Infrastructure, Science and Technology, and Homeland Security, U.S. House of Representatives

Tuesday, May 4

U.S. DOT Modal Administrator Plenary

Congestion Management

- Mary E. Peters, Former Secretary, U.S. DOT
- Tom Sorel, Commissioner, Minnesota DOT

Transportation and Climate Change

- Susan Bromm, Director, Office of Federal Activities, U.S. EPA
- Robert Bertini, Deputy Administrator, Research and Innovative Technology Administration
- James Corless, Executive Director, Transportation for America (T4 America)

Wednesday, May 5

Closing Plenary

- Ray LaHood, U.S. Secretary of Transportation
- Sam Palmisano, Chairman and CEO, IBM

Moderator: C. Michael Walton, Professor, University of Texas at Austin

USDOT Transportation Authorization Outreach Meeting

- Ray LaHood, U.S. Secretary of Transportation
- Polly Trottenberg, Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy, U.S. DOT
- U.S. DOT Modal Administrators

The Intelligent Transportation Society of America represents more than 400 member organizations including public agencies, private corporations, and academic institutions involved in the research, development, and deployment of technologies that improve safety, increase mobility, strengthen the economy, and sustain the environment. http://www.itsa.org

###